Project – Detailed Observation – End of Project Notes

Drawing media

I found a fibre tipped pen really difficult really difficult in the first exercise, but drawing a single continuous line requires confidence that I lack. Warming up helped immensely.

A dip pen was a revelation. I have previously thought these fiddly and over-precise, but I managed a more fluid line here. Not great for tone but beautiful for line. Good combined with a wash or other tone.

Pencil is versatile and has a great variety of tone and mark. Easy to over work.

Marks  for tone, pattern texture:

Scribbly marks are great

I’m getting better at hatching – very effective, particularly in different colours, careful not to full grain of paper

Rhythmic marks add interest

It’s really enjoyable to spend the time immersed in an object so that I really understand it but then I have to work hard to retain spontaneity

A line drawing is very helpful for quick exploration of shapes and the dynamics of a composition. Good for getting your eye in.

I enjoy more impressionistic representations but a rigorous detailed drawing is  a great exercise as part of a plan of attack on a subject. Think military…a project needs a plan of campaign, strategy and tactics, and ideally a camp follower to do the shopping and feed you!

This entry was posted in Drawing 1, End of Project Notes, Part 2 Observation In Nature, Project Detailed Obsevation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment