Assignment 5 – Option 2

I have set myself the following objectives for this final assignment:

  • be ambitious
  • work with colour and texture
  • develop from the techniques used in Looking Closer and Torn Collage
  • produce a piece with a rich, interesting surface
  • use the technique of obliterating and restating
  • reflect a sculptural shape and interesting shadow

I looked back through all my sketches, especially ‘Different Angles’, and did further thumbnail sketches to decide on my composition. I wanted to get dramatic lighting, so I experimented with a darkened room, spot light and a box. In the end I decided to suspend my stone in the box. This gave me:

  • an interesting, offset shadow
  • contrasting texture of the string and stone
  • perspective of the corners of the box
  • highlights the hole in the stone
  • a centre of interest with the knot through the hole.

I experimented with media which I could work over again. I settled on a roughly brushed gesso background (several layers for toughness) with coloured charcoals in a very limited palette (tan, brown, grey,blue).

In the composition I aimed for:

  • the string to be on about the 1/3 line
  • the stone and shadow to give a diagonal
  • the string and shadow to not be fully resolvedstone layout001
  • the texture, colour and tones of the work as a whole to mirror those on the stone
  • very simple and strong, so, in the end, I edited out the edges of the box

Having prepared my support, I toned the background by sweeping coloured charcoal over it, and then reworking with gesso and acrylic medium. I  started to place loosely the stone and shadow. I kept drawing in charcoal, rubbing over, painting over and getting more texture. I gradually allowed the shapes to appear, layering up the colours. Eventually I started to concentrate on details of tone in the stone, but when I did, I over filled my texture. I obliterated the shapes almost completely and started again. This time I was careful not to use charcoal too heavily, and to try for an impression rather than detail.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am pleased with:

  • richness of texture
  • restrained colour
  • three dimensionality of the stone and knot
  • integration of shapes and colour
  • flow around the drawing.

I am not sure about:

  • lack of definition on the stone? just not sure about the balance between clarity and texture
  • the shadow is not shapely enough
  • I tried to make an interesting but very simple composition, but I am not sure it is interesting enough
  • is the drawn element of the picture obvious enough? Does it need to be?

If I was starting again I would:

  • if I was using this technique again, I would work on a much bigger scale.
  • I might crop in much harder

I really enjoyed the process of developing the image using paint, charcoal and my fingers. I felt a real, physical connection with the work and the subject.

This entry was posted in Assignment 5, Drawing 1, Part 5 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment